Class/Membership

The Hurricane 5.9 is a one design racing catamaran designed by Reg White in Brightlingsea in response to a Tornado Catamaran owners request that White designed a cat with equal or superior performance to the Tornado of roughly the same length and sail area but did not need to be dismantled for trailing.  The Hurricane was born and in 2012 is now celebrating its 29th year.

The Hurricane has been enjoying a resurgence in recent years with both old and new members coming into the class creating a good mixture of both experience and enthusiasm.  Everybody is extremely friendly, open and welcoming ensuring that from beginner to winner your experience in this class is an enjoyable one and the main aim is that we all sail better and faster and have a great time.

The new developments that have been made in the last few years have revolutionised the boat and it is now easier cat to sail regardless of your age and gender.   As a result we have a wide and diverse membership from twenties to seventies and we are attracting many father, son/daughter crews and more and more woman are coming into the fleet all the time.

The Hurricane remains an incredibly smooth, strong, beautifully balanced and stable performer at very affordable price and now the SX  version with bursts of acceleration and far higher top speeds than ever before.   That said both 2 sail Hurricanes and the 3 sail SX sail alongside each other competively at both club level and on the circuit.

You get more bang for your buck with a Hurricane !

YOUR COMMITTEE

Your committee members are all active both at club and on the circuit and can be contacted below.

 

Chairman Andy Bedford

chairman.hurricane59@hotmail.co.uk

M: 07879 862863

 

 

TreasurerAdam Charlesworth – Adam Charlesworth

 acharlesworth@virginmedia.com

M: 07779 108 114

 

 

 

Coach – John Ready

john@thereadyfamily.com

M: 07776 253 711

 

andy webb

Boat Builder/Rules – Andy Webb

info@awsailboats.co.uk

M: 07941 940 459

 

Membership – Jojohntuckwellhn Tuckwell

John.Tuckwell@gmail.com

M: 07894 818 847

 

 

julian-reichert

Fixtures – Julian Reichert

 julianj505@hotmail.com

 

 

 

Geoff TIndale

Rules and Tech – Geoff Tindale

tindale@hellhall.freeserve.co.uk

M: 07810 376 149

 

 

 

Rules aPaulMcKaynd Tech – Paul McKay

paulmckay67@googlemail.com

M: 07908 874 374

 

Promotions/Marketing – Vacancy